Manage your subscription

The Databricks account owner and account administrators can manage your Databricks subscription.

Note

This article describes how to manage your Databricks subscription using the new account console. Subscription management is different for some versions of the platform, which continue to use the legacy account console. Both account consoles are accessed the same way, but what you can do is different. All new Databricks accounts and most existing accounts use the new account console. If you are unsure whether your account uses the new account console, contact your Databricks representative.

Manage billing

The way you manage billing depends on the type of business relationship you have with Databricks.

Pay-as-you-go accounts through AWS Marketplace

If you subscribed to Databricks using AWS Marketplace, your Databricks charges appear alongside your other AWS costs. To manage your payment methods, use the AWS console.

Pay-as-you-go accounts paid by credit card to Databricks

If you pay Databricks directly by credit card, follow these instructions to manage billing:

  1. As the Databricks account owner or an account-level administrator, log in to the Databricks account console.

  2. Click the Settings icon in the sidebar.

  3. If no payment method has been added, click Add billing information and fill in the form.

  4. To edit your existing payment method, click Edit.

Contract accounts

If you have a contract with Databricks, Databricks has your billing information on file. Contact your Databricks representative to make updates.

Upgrade your subscription

Databricks has multiple pricing plans. If your current plan is no longer meeting all of your organization’s needs, you can upgrade to a higher-tier plan. The instructions for upgrading your account are different for pay-as-you-go accounts and contract accounts.

Pay-as-you-go accounts

If you have a pay-as-you-go account, follow these instructions to upgrade to another plan.

Note

To upgrade from Databricks Community Edition to the full Databricks platform, sign up for the Databricks Free Trial or contact a Databricks representative. For more information, see Sign up for a free trial.

  1. As the Databricks account owner or an account-level administrator, log in to the Databricks account console

  2. Click the Settings icon in the sidebar.

    Your current plan is indicated on the page.

  3. To upgrade to a new plan, click Change plan.

  4. To select a plan or to see details for a plan, click the tile for that plan.

  5. Click Save.

You cannot downgrade your plan directly in the account console. To request a downgrade:

  1. Click Change plan.

  2. Click the tile for the plan. For example, if you are subscribed to Enterprise, click Premium or Standard.

  3. Click Contact us. A Databricks representative will contact you.

For more information, see the plans and pricing page.

Contract accounts

If you have a contract with Databricks, contact your Databricks representative to manage your subscription level.

Cancel your Databricks subscription

After you cancel your subscription:

  • You can no longer access workspaces, notebooks, or data in your Databricks account.

  • In accordance with the Databricks terms of service, any Customer Content contained within workspaces tied to your subscription will be deleted within 30 days of cancellation.

  • You can’t sign up for a new subscription using the same email address. You must provide a new email address in the sign-up form.

Pay-as-you-go accounts through AWS Marketplace

To cancel your subscription:

  1. As the Databricks account owner or an account administrator, log in to the Databricks account console.

  2. Go to each workspace and export any data or notebooks you want to import into a different account.

  3. Delete all workspaces.

  4. Log in to AWS as a user with the aws-marketplace:Unsubscribe permission in their IAM role.

  5. Go to AWS Marketplace.

  6. From the account name at the top right, select Your Marketplace software.

  7. Click Databricks Lakehouse Platform.

  8. From Actions, click Cancel subscription.

Pay-as-you-go accounts through Databricks

To cancel your subscription:

  1. As the Databricks account owner or an account-level administrator, log in to the account console.

  2. Go to each workspace and export any data or notebooks you want to import into a different account.

  3. Delete all workspaces.

  4. Click the Settings icon in the sidebar.

  5. Click Cancel plan.

  6. In the confirmation dialog, click Confirm delete.

Contract accounts

If you have a contract with Databricks, contact your Databricks representative to manage your subscription.

Delete your Databricks account

When you delete an account, the account owner and all history associated with the management of your organization’s account are deleted. Before you delete a Databricks account, you must first cancel your Databricks subscription and delete all Unity Catalog metastores in the account. After you delete all metastores associated with your organization’s account, you can start the process to delete your account.

If you need to delete your Databricks account, reach out to your account team for assistance or file a ticket at help.databricks.com.