Skip to main content

Version history in Databricks notebooks

Databricks notebooks maintain a history of notebook versions, allowing you to view and restore previous snapshots of a notebook. You can perform the following actions on versions: add descriptions, restore and delete versions, and clear version history.

You can also sync your work in Databricks with a remote Git repository.

View version history​

To access notebook versions, click version history icon in the right sidebar. The notebook version history appears.

Add a description​

To add a description to the latest version:

  1. Click the version.

  2. Click Save now.

    Click save now to add a version description.

  3. In the Save version dialog, enter a version description.

    Save version description.

  4. Click Save. The notebook version is saved with the entered description.

Restore a version​

To restore a version:

  1. Click the version.

  2. Click Restore this version.

    Restore version

  3. Click Confirm. The selected version becomes the latest version of the notebook.

Delete a version​

To delete a version entry:

  1. Click the version.

  2. Click the trash icon Trash.

    Delete version

  3. Click Yes, erase. The selected version is deleted from the history.

Clear version history​

The version history can't be recovered after you clear it.

To clear the version history for a notebook:

  1. Under Version history, click Clear history.
  2. Click Yes, clear. The notebook version history is cleared.

Side-by-side diff in version history​

When you display previous notebook versions, the editor displays side-by-side diffs with color highlighting.

Show the notebook version history diffs.