DROP VOLUME

Applies to: check marked yes Databricks SQL check marked yes Databricks Runtime 13.2 and above check marked yes Unity Catalog only

Deletes the specified volume.

When you delete a managed volume, the files stored in this volume are also deleted from your cloud tenant within 30 days.

If an external volume is dropped, the metadata about the volume is removed from the catalog, but the underlying files are not deleted.

To drop a volume you must be its owner, or the owner of the schema, catalog, or metastore the volume resides in.

Syntax

DROP VOLUME [ IF EXISTS ] volume_name

Parameter

  • IF EXISTS

    If specified, no error is thrown when the volume does not exist.

  • volume_name

    The name of the volume to be dropped. If the volume cannot be found Databricks raises an error.

Examples

 Drop a volume named 'my_volume'
> DROP VOLUME my_volume
  OK

 Drop a volume named `my_volume` under catalog `my_catalog` and schema `my_schema
> DROP VOLUME my_catalog.my_schema.my_volume
  OK

 The volume must exist
> DROP VOLUME my_volume
  Error

 Drop a volume named `my_volume` only if it exists
> DROP VOLUME IF EXISTS my_volume
  OK