Dashboard access control

Preview

This feature is in Public Preview.

With dashboard access control, individual permissions determine a user’s abilities. This article describes the individual permissions and how to configure dashboard access control.

Dashboard permissions

There are four permission levels for a dashboard: No Permissions, Can Run, Can Edit, and Can Manage. Only the dashboard owner has Can Manage permission; this permission cannot be shared.

The table lists the abilities for each permission.

Ability No Permissions Can Run Can Edit Can Manage
See in dashboard list   x x x
View dashboard and results   x x x
Refresh query results in the dashboard (or choose different parameters)   x x x
Edit dashboard     x (1) x
Modify permissions       x
Delete dashboard       x

(1) Requires the Run as viewer sharing setting.

Note

The principal used to execute a query is the user that created the query, not the user that clicks the Refresh button.

Sharing settings

Dashboards support two types of sharing settings: Run as viewer and Run as owner.

To configure sharing settings:

  1. Click Dashboards Icon Dashboards in the sidebar.
  2. Click a dashboard.
  3. Click the Share Button button at the top right. The Manage Permissions dialog displays.
  4. In the Sharing settings > Credentials field at the bottom, select:
    • Run as viewer: the viewer’s credential is used to execute the queries in the dashboard.
    • Run as owner: the owner’s credential is used to execute the queries in the dashboard.

Once you accept Run as viewer, you can no longer change the credential back to Run as owner. If you revoke all sharing, you will be able to set Credentials.

Manage dashboard permissions using the UI

  1. Click Dashboards Icon Dashboards in the sidebar.

  2. Click a dashboard.

  3. Click the Share Button button at the top right. The Manage Permissions dialog displays.

    Manage dashboard permissions
  4. Follow the steps based on the permission type you want to grant:

    • Can Edit permission
      1. Select the Run as viewer sharing setting.
      2. Click the top field to add a user or group.
      3. Select the Can Editpermission.
      4. Click Add.
    • Can Run permission
      1. Click the top field to add a user or group.
      2. Select the Can Runpermission.
      3. Click Add.
  5. Dismiss the dialog.