Workspace

The Workspace is the special root folder for all of your organization’s Databricks assets. The Workspace stores all your notebooks, libraries, and dashboards. By default, the Workspace and all its contents are available to users, but each user also has a private home folder that is not shared. You can control who can view, edit, and run objects in the Workspace by enabling Workspace access control.

You can create and manage the Workspace using the UI, the CLI, and by invoking the Workspace API. This topic focuses on performing Workspace tasks using the UI. For the other methods, see Databricks CLI and Workspace API.

Folders

Folders hold everything within the Workspace. This is just like a folder on your desktop or local computer.

Click a folder name to open or close the folder and view its contents.

Open Folder

  • Folders can contain notebooks, libraries, and other folders.
  • Icons indicate the type of the object contained in a folder.

Special folders

A Databricks Workspace has three special folders: Workspace, Shared, and Users. You cannot rename or move a special folder.

The Workspace is the special root folder for all of your organization’s Databricks assets. You can sort all files alphabetically or by type (folder, notebook, library) across all folders by clicking Down Caret to the right of the Workspace folder and selecting Sort > [Alphabetical | Type]:

../_images/workspace-sort.png

The Shared folder is for sharing objects across your organization.

The Users folder contains the folder for each registered user.

User folders

Each user has a folder for their own personal notebooks and libraries:

Workspace > Home Folder

If you have workspace access control activated in your account, by default objects in this folder are private to that user.

When you remove a user, the user folder is not deleted.

Folder actions

To perform an action on a folder, click the Down Caret at the right side of a folder.

../_images/folder-menu.png

From the drop-down menu you can:

  • Create a notebook, library, or nested folder contained in the folder
  • Clone the folder to create a deep copy of the folder
  • Rename the folder
  • Move the folder to Trash. Objects in the Trash folder are permanently deleted after 30 days. To delete immediately, see Delete an object.
  • Move the folder to another location
  • Import a saved Databricks archive into the selected folder
  • Export the folder to save it and its contents as a Databricks archive
  • If you have Workspace access control enabled, select Permissions to set access controls on the folder.

Objects

The objects stored in the Workspace are folders, notebooks, and libraries.

To perform an action on an object, right-click the object or click the Menu Dropdown at the right side of an object.

../_images/object-menu.png

From the drop-down menu you can:

  • If the object is a folder, create a notebook, library, or nested folder contained in the folder
  • Clone the object
  • Rename the object
  • Move the object to Trash. Objects in the Trash folder are permanently deleted after 30 days. To delete immediately, see Delete an object.
  • Move the object to another location
  • Delete the object
  • If the object is a folder, import a saved Databricks archive
  • Export the folder or notebook as a Databricks archive
  • If the object is a notebook, copy the notebook’s file path
  • If you have Workspace access control enabled, select Permissions to set access controls on the object.

Move an object

To move an object, you can drag-and-drop the object or click the Menu Dropdown or Down Caret at the right side of the object and select Move:

Move Drop Down

To move all the objects inside a folder to another folder, select the Move action on the source folder and select the Move all items in ‘<folder-name>’ rather than the folder itself checkbox.

Move Contents Checkbox

Delete an object

To delete a folder, notebook, or library, click the Menu Dropdown or Down Caret at the right side of the object and select Move to Trash. The Trash folder is automatically emptied (purged) after 30 days.

You can permanently delete an object in the Trash by selecting the Menu Dropdown to the right of the object and selecting Delete Immediately.

../_images/trash-delete.png

You can permanently delete all objects in the Trash by selecting the Down Caret to the right of the Trash folder and selecting Empty Trash.

../_images/empty-trash.png

Restore an object

You restore an object by dragging it from the Trash Trash folder to another folder.

Search the Workspace

To search the workspace, click the Search Icon Search Icon in the sidebar and type a search string in the Search Workspace field. As you type, objects (folders, notebooks, and libraries) whose name contains the search string are listed.

../_images/search-ex.png

Get help

To get help at any time, click the question mark at the top right-hand corner to display a variety of resources, including documentation and shortcuts.

Help Menus

Any text you search returns results from all our help content.